About

13391999_10153186509367185_257064727464350531_oHello!

My name is Dr. Déborah Natanson, and I am a native French speaker. I’m a full-time freelance teacher and translator. I came to Edinburgh in 2002 to start my master’s degree, and I loved the city so much that I never left!

Let’s do a little virtual interview. Don’t hesitate to contact me if you have more questions!

 

 

Which subjects do you teach?

I teach French, Latin, Ancient Greek, Classical Studies and Philosophy.

Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a Licence ès Lettres (French and Classics) from the Sorbonne, and an Msc and PhD in Classics from the University of Edinburgh. In 2005, I took a Tutor Training Course with the University of Edinburgh (“Effective Tutoring”). I am happy to send a CV on request.

What kind of experience do you have?

I have worked as a part-time Classics tutor at Edinburgh University since 2005, teaching undergraduate students Latin and Greek (from beginners’ level to Honour translation courses) as well as Ancient philosophy, literature and mythology. I was responsible for the content of the tutorials, starting and moderating group discussions and marking essays and exercises.

After I graduated for my PhD in 2009, I set up as a private tutor and translator, working one-on-one with both adults and school or university students preparing for their exams in French, Latin, Greek and Philosophy (National 5, GCSE, Highers, A Level and university Honours levels).

How much do you charge?

I typically charge £25 per hour from my place, and £30 from the student’s place, to cover travel time and expenses. Discounts are available for groups, and for paying for several lessons in advance (5% for 5 lessons, and 10% for 10 lessons).

Where do you teach?

I teach from home or from the student’s home. I live in central Edinburgh (Tollcross, many bus routes have stops near me), but I’ve been travelling to Colinton, Stockbridge, Southside, and Leith, for example, and occasionally as far as West Lothian (I will have to charge a bit more if you live very far away).

I also offer lessons over Skype, and I’ve been working with students in the Highlands, the US, Ireland, and Qatar.

When are you available?

I am available during the day, in the evening and on Sundays. I am also available during school holidays.

Do you have an up-to-date DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service, formerly CRB) Certificate?

Yes, I do (Disclosure Scotland).

Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I typically send the student the exercises we will be working on together in advance, and teach them over Skype. I have also used google docs to work on exercises, so I can correct them as they write.

The Greek polytonic keyboard works on Skype, so even Ancient Greek can be taught online.